Ohio State Football: More Buckeyes receive Big Ten honors


More postseason honors for Ohio State football players.

Over the last couple of weeks Ohio State football players have received numerous honors and awards for their performance on the field. Now, even more have been honored for their work in the classroom.

The Big Ten released the Academic All-Conference team and the Buckeyes are well represented. Here are the players who were honored.

Tuf Borland, Nick Bosa, Joe Burrow, Drue Chrisman, Jonathon Cooper, Gavin Cupp, Brock Davin, Wayne Davis, Luke Farrell, Frevon Forte, Jordan Fuller, Elijah Goins, Dwayne Haskins, Jackson Hayes, Justin Hilliard, Sam Hubbard, Hayden Jester, Dre’mont Jones, Bryan Kristan, Jordan Leasure, Demario McCall, Jake Metzer, Sean Nuemberger, Blake Plenning, Billy Price, Clay Raterman, C.J. Saunders, Nick Seme, Kendall Sheffield, Zach Turnure, Jack Wohlabaugh, and Kevin Woidke.

Nice to see so many Ohio State football players make the Academic All-Conference team. To see all of the Big Ten players so honored in every fall sport click here

Last week the members of the All-Big Ten football team and individual award winners were announced. If you missed it, here are those players who were so honored. Two seniors, quarterback J.T. Barrett and center Billy Price won individual awards along with sophomore defensive end Nick Bosa.

For Barrett, this is the third time he has won the Griese-Brees as the top quarterback in the Big Ten. The only other player to have won the award more than once is the guy he replaced, Braxton Miller.

With Price winning the Rimington-Pace award, it’s the second year in a row a Buckeye has been named the top offensive lineman in the conference. He follows Pat Elflein who also moved from guard to center his senior season.

And Bosa is just continuing a family tradition by winning the Smith-Brown award. His uncle Eric Kumerow was named the top defensive lineman in 1986 and older brother Joey won the award twice in his three years at Ohio State. Teammate Tyquan Lewis also won the Smith-Brown award last season.

You can see every Big Ten individual award winner by going to Big Ten.com.

Now for the Buckeyes who were named All-Big Ten:


  • QB JT Barrett  1st team  (Coaches and Media)
  • C Billy Price  1st team  (Coaches and Media)
  • OT Jamarco Jones  1st team  (Coaches and Media)
  • OG Michael Jordan  1st team (Coaches), 2nd team (Media)
  • RB JK Dobbins  2nd team  (Coaches and Media)
  • OT Isaiah Prince  3rd team  (Coaches and Media)
  • WR Parris Campbell  3rd team  (Coaches)  

Honorable Mention:

  • TE Marcus Baugh, WR K.J. Hill and RB Mike Weber  (Coaches and Media)
  • WR Johnnie Dixon  (Media)          

More from Scarlet and Game

Defense and Special Teams:

  • DE Nick Bosa  1st team  (Coaches and Media)
  • DE Tyquan Lewis  1st team  (Coaches and Media)
  • CB Denzyl Ward  1st team (Media), 2nd team (Coaches)
  • DE Sam Hubbard  2nd team  (Coaches and Media)
  • DT Dre’mont Jones  3rd team  (Coaches)
  • S Jordan Fuller  3rd team  (Coaches)
  • S Damon Webb  3rd team  (Media)

Honorable mention:

  • LB Jerome Baker, DE Jalyn Holmes and LB Chris Worley  (Coaches and Media)
  • S Damon Webb  (Coaches), CB Damon Arnette, S Jordan Fuller and DT Dre’mont Jones  (Media)

Special teams:

  • Return Specialist Parris Campbell  2nd team  (Media), 3rd team  (Coaches)
  • Punter Drue Chrisman  3rd team  (Coaches and Media)
  • Kicker Sean Nuemberger  3rd team  (Coaches and Media)

You can see the entire list of the players named All-Big Ten at BTN.com, Offense and Big Ten.org for Defense and Special Teams.

Next: JT Barrett has guts, and hopefully a little glory

Congratulations to all of the Buckeyes who have been honored for their performance on and off the field. Stay tuned, there are certain to be plenty more honors for these young men going forward.