Ohio State football team will be known as DBU for years to come

Three more defensive backs from the Ohio State football team will be selected in this year’s NFL Draft leaving now doubt who is the real DBU.

As the NFL Combine kicks off in Indy this week, 11 Ohio State football players will be present as they begin their quests for the NFL. DE Chase Young and CB Jeff Okudah both could be top 3 draft picks.

Arguably one of the safest picks in this years NFL Draft, Jeff Okudah will become the 30th defensive back drafted from the Buckeyes since 2000. The debate for DBU needs to be put to rest.

Ohio State leads the country with defensive backs drafted since 2000. Miami and Virginia Tech follow the Buckeyes with 24 DBs drafted followed by Alabama, Florida and LSU with 23.

Certainly, the slogan BIA (Best In America) among the Ohio State defensive back room is no joke. Jeff Okudah, Jordan Fuller and Damon Arnette will put the Buckeyes at 32 DBs drafted since 2000 following this year’s NFL Draft in Vegas.

With Okudah going off the board early, if either Fuller or Arnette is drafted in the first round it will provide even more confirmation that Ohio State is DBU. As the Draft approaches in April, the Buckeyes have had 11 defensive backs were selected in the 1st round.

The first rounders include Ahmed Plummer, Nate Clements, Chris Gamble, Donte Whitner, Malcolm Jenkins, Bradley Roby, Eli Apple, Marshon Lattimore, Malik Hooker, Gareon Conley and Denzel Ward.

Despite the departure of Okudah and Arnette, the Buckeyes defensive back unit will continue the legacy of DBU. Coach Kerry Coombs has helped the Buckeyes become DBU after developing 5 cornerbacks into first round NFL Draft picks from 2014-2018. Each Buckeye corner to start under Coombs has reached the NFL.

This year, Coombs’ unit will be led by Shaun Wade. Wade’s decision to return to Ohio State and developing under coach Coombs this season will result in him becoming a top 10 NFL Draft pick in 2021.

Next: Buckeyes have a five-star QB commit in 2021

Sorry LSU, Miami, Florida and Alabama but the debate is over. Under coach Coombs leadership, Ohio State will be DBU for years to come.

Load Comments