Ohio State Football: Darron Lee, Mike Weber are Super Bowl champs

Many Ohio State football fans were rooting for former Buckeye Nick Bosa on Sunday in the Super Bowl but two other Buckeyes ultimately won.

With all eyes on the Super Bowl on Sunday, many Ohio State football fans were rooting for the San Francisco 49ers and former Buckeye Nick Bosa who flourished in his first year in the NFL. Winning the Pepsi NFL and the PFWA Rookie of the Year awards, Bosa had a huge year at defensive end for the 49ers, helping lead them to a Super Bowl appearance.

However, at the end of the night on Sunday, many Ohio State football fans were disappointed as Bosa and the 49ers lost to the Kansas City Chiefs 31-20 despite leading by 20-10 in the fourth quarter.

It is okay though Buckeye fans as there are still two former Ohio State football players who are now Super Bowl champions after last night.

Former Buckeye linebacker Darron Lee played in 16 games for the Chiefs this year, despite not playing in the playoffs, and he will now add more bling to his collection after winning the College Football Playoff National Championship with the Buckeyes in 2014.

In addition to Lee, former Ohio State Buckeye running back Mike Weber was also on the Chiefs sideline last night as he is a member of the team’s practice squad.

Of course, we would have loved to see these guys actually play in the game like Bosa did as he racked up five tackles and had a sack in the game, but we can all take solace in the fact that we still had two Buckeyes on the winning side yesterday.

Next: Big recruiting weekend for the Buckeyes

With there being 31 different former Ohio State players to win the Super Bowl before last night, according to 247Sports, I think we will continue to see this number grow with the amount of talent the Buckeyes have in their program. I expect at least one Buckeye will win it each year over the next few years too, so I can’t wait to see who it will be next year.

Load Comments