Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

Braxton Miller Named Semifinalist for Davey O'Brien Award

Braxton Miller was named one of the 16 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien Trophy, the annual award given to the best quarterback in College Football. Miller was the only player from the Big Ten of the 16, competing with other big-name quarerbacks including Oregon’s Marcus Mariota, Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel and Florida State’s Jameis Winston.

If Miller were to win the award, he would be the first from the Big Ten since former Heisman winner Troy Smith won as the quarterback for the Buckeyes in 2006. Some wonder why Big Ten quarterbacks have struggled to make a name for themselves in recent years, but the Big Ten is just not a quarterback-driven conference. Most teams in the Big Ten succeed due to potent running games and suffocating defenses. Let’s hope Braxton makes it as a finalist!

Tags: Braxton Miller Davey O'Brien Award Ohio State Buckeyes

comments powered by Disqus