Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

Braxton Miller Should NOT Want to Win the Heisman?

Yes, the title is true, in my opinion, Braxton Miller should NOT want to win the Heisman Trophy this year. Before you jump to conclusions saying I’m an idiot and don’t know what I’m talking about, let’s look at the facts.

Since 2000, out of 13 Heisman Trophies, 11 have been won by quarterbacks. Technically, if we count Reggie Bush’s vacated Heisman, it’s 11/12 since 2000. You’re probably wondering why this is bad, right? See, where all of this changes, is success in the big stage, the NFL.

Obviously the recent Heisman winners can’t be judged of their careers yet, but of those 8 players who have been in the league at least four years, how many do you think had long, successful careers in the National Football League? Maybe 5? I suppose that question is a matter of opinion, but my number is one. ONE quarterback who won the Heisman from 2000-2008 has had a successful career. I don’t know about you, but I don’t necessarily like those odds.

Here are the winners of the Heisman Trophy from 2000-2008; you decide who was successful.

  • 2000: Chris Weinke
  • 2001: Eric Crouch
  • 2002: Carson Palmer
  • 2003: Jason White
  • 2004: Matt Leinart
  • 2006: Troy Smith
  • 2007: Tim Tebow
  • 2008: Sam Bradford

You make up your own mind, but if I was a quarterback, looking ahead to my future in the NFL, I think I’d rather not win the Heisman.

How many Heisman winners do YOU think were successful?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Next Buckeyes Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Oct 2525 Oct8:00at Penn State Nittany LionsBuy Tickets

Tags: Braxton Miller Ohio State Buckeyes Ohio State Buckeyes Football

comments powered by Disqus