Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

Ohio State Names Captains

Ohio State has named their captains for the season… well, kind of. The Buckeyes will have eight players serve as game captains and the season captains will be named at the end of the year. The eight captains are Braxton Miller, Kenny Guiton, Corey “Philly” Brown, C.J. Barnett, Christian Bryant, Ryan Shazier, Jack Mewhort, and Corey Linsley. Coach Meyer explained the rationale behind the decision:

 “It’s the first time I’ve done something like this. We had eight individuals receive a lot of votes.”

The most captains that Ohio State has had in a season is six, which was back in 2010. The selections, at least to me, seem like obvious choices. Miller and Guiton are both respected leaders at the quarterback position. Brown emerged as a leader last season, especially to the rest of the young receiving corps. Mewhort and Linsley are leaders on the offensive line. Barnett and Bryant, as mentioned in our safeties breakdown, are the only starting seniors on the defense. That leaves Shazier, the next in a line of a terrific linebackers to come through Ohio State over the past decade. Some notable players that did not get named a captain include suspended players Bradley Roby and Carlos Hyde.


Next Buckeyes Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov8:00Illinois Fighting IlliniBuy Tickets

Tags: Braxton Miller Christian Bryant CJ Barnett Corey Linsley Jack Mewhort Kenny Guiton Ohio State Buckeyes Philly Brown Ryan Shazier

comments powered by Disqus